Discrimination

What is discrimination?

Discrimination can be based on the seven following reasons:

  1. nationality,
  2. membership or not, whether true or assumed, in a given race or ethnic group,
  3. sex,
  4. sexual orientation,
  5. religion or beliefs,
  6. a handicap or
  7. age.

Any direct or indirect discrimination based on these reasons is forbidden!

Direct discrimination

Direct discrimination occurs when a person is treated in a less favourable manner than another is being, has been or would be treated in a comparable situation, on the basis of one of the above reasons.

Indirect discrimination

Indirect discrimination occurs when an apparently neutral provision, criterion or practice is likely to result in a particular disadvantage for people of a nationality, who belong (or not), whether in reality or supposedly, to a given race or ethnic group, or on the basis of sex, sexual orientation, religion or beliefs, a handicap or age, relative to other people, unless this provision, criterion or practice can be objectively justified and that the means to carry out this objective are appropriate and necessary.

Harassment

Without prejudice to the specific provisions relative to sexual and psychological harassment in the workplace, harassment is considered to be a form of discrimination based on the reasons mentioned above, when undesirable behaviour linked to one of the aforesaid reasons is demonstrated, the purpose or effect of which is to threaten a person’s dignity and to create an intimidating, hostile, degrading, humiliating or offensive environment.

Any behaviour that involves calling on anyone to demonstrate discrimination against other persons for one of the aforesaid reasons is considered to be discrimination.

La discrimination

Qu’est-ce qu’une discrimination ?

Une discrimination peut être fondée sur 6 motifs, à savoir :

  1. l’appartenance ou non appartenance, vraie ou supposée, à une race ou ethnie,
  2. le sexe,
  3. l’orientation sexuelle,
  4. la religion ou les convictions,
  5. le handicap ou
  6. l’âge.

Toute discrimination directe ou indirecte fondée sur ces motifs est interdite!

Discrimination directe

Une discrimination directe se produit lorsqu’une personne est traitée de manière moins favorable qu’une autre ne l’est, ne l’a été ou ne le serait dans une situation comparable, sur la base de l’un des motifs.

Discrimination indirecte

Une discrimination indirecte se produit lorsqu’une disposition, un critère ou une pratique apparemment neutre est susceptible d’entraîner un désavantage particulier pour des personnes d’une appartenance ou d’une non appartenance, vraie ou supposée, à une race ou ethnie données, d’un sexe, d’une orientation sexuelle, d’une religion ou de convictions, d’un handicap ou d’un âge, par rapport à d’autres personnes, à moins que cette disposition, ce critère ou cette pratique ne soit objectivement justifié et que les moyens de réaliser cet objectif soient appropriés et nécessaires.

Harcèlement

Sans préjudice des dispositions spécifiques relatives au harcèlement sexuel et au harcèlement moral sur les lieux de travail, le harcèlement est considéré comme une forme de discrimination fondée sur les motifs cités en haut, lorsqu’un comportement indésirable lié à l’un des motifs visés se manifeste, qui a pour objet ou pour effet de porter atteinte à la dignité d’une personne et de créer un environnement intimidant, hostile, dégradant, humiliant ou offensant.

Tout comportement consistant à enjoindre à quiconque de pratiquer une discrimination à l’encontre de personnes pour l’un des motifs cités en haut est considéré comme discrimination.