Defence of rights and means of recourse

No one can be subjected to reprisals on the basis of protests or refusal with regard to an action or behaviour that is contrary to the principle of equal treatment as defined by the law of 28 November 2006 on equal treatment, or on the basis of reaction or complaint or legal proceedings intended to ensure compliance with the principle of equal treatment. Similarly, no one can be subjected to reprisals for having testified with regard to such actions or for having recounted them.

Any provision or action contrary to the provisions contained in the law, and notably any dismissal in violation of these provisions, is null and void and article L. 253-1 of the Labour code applies.

When a person feels that s/he has been wronged as a result of non-compliance with the principle of equal treatment and establishes, either directly or through a non-profit association having the jurisdiction to do so in compliance with the law of 28 November 2006 or through a trade union that has jurisdiction to do so pursuant to and within the limits of article L. 253-5 paragraph (2) of the Labour code, or within the framework of an action resulting from the collective bargaining agreement or the agreement signed in application of article L. 165-1 of the Labour code in compliance with and within the limits of article L. 253-5, paragraph (1) of the Labour code, before the civil or administrative courts, facts that lead to the presumption of the existence of direct or indirect discrimination, it is incumbent upon the defendant to prove that there has been no violation of the principle of equal treatment.

This paragraph does not apply to criminal proceedings.

Any provision will be considered as null and void if notably contained in a contract, an individual or collective bargaining agreement or in a company’s standing orders, as well as in the rules governing non-profit associations, self-employed professions and organisation of workers and employers, in the event it is contrary to the principle of equal treatment for the purposes of the law of 28 November 2006.

Any non-profit association of national scale having as its statutory activity the struggle against discrimination and that has had a legal personality for at least five years on the date of the events and that has received prior approval from the Minister whose remit includes Justice, can appear before civil or administrative courts for the purpose of exercising the rights assigned to the victim of discrimination with regard to events that comprise a violation of the provisions of the law and that result in direct or indirect damage to the collective interests that it is intended to defend pursuant to its statutory purpose, even if it has not demonstrated a material or moral interest.

However, should the events have been committed against persons considered on an individual basis, the non-profit association cannot primarily exercise the rights assigned to the victim(s) of discrimination unless these people expressly declare their non-opposition, in writing.

For the moment, these non-profit organisations can appear before civil or administrative courts :

“Association de soutien aux travailleurs immigrés” (ASTI), “Centre de liaison, d’information et d’aide pour les associations des projets au Luxembourg” (CLAE) and “Action Luxembourg Ouvert et Solidaire-Ligue des droits de l’homme“ (ALOS-LDH) according to the law of 19 July 1997 (race/ethnic origin);

“Association de soutien aux travailleurs immigrés” (ASTI), “Info-Handicap (Conseil national des personnes handicapées)”, “Chiens guides d’aveugles au Luxembourg”,  “Action Luxembourg Ouvert et Solidaire-Ligue des droits de l’homme“ (ALOS-LDH) and CARITAS according to the law of 28 November 2006

and “Conseil national des femmes du Luxembourg (CNFL)” according to the laws of 21 December 2007 and 13 May 2008.

Défense des droits et voies de recours

Aucune personne ne peut faire l’objet de représailles ni en raison des protestations ou refus opposés à un acte ou un comportement contraire au principe de l’égalité de traitement défini par la loi du 28 novembre 2006 sur l’égalité de traitement, ni en réaction à une plainte ou à une action en justice visant à faire respecter le principe de l’égalité de traitement. De même, personne ne peut faire l’objet de représailles pour avoir témoigné les agissements ou pour les avoir relatés.

Toute disposition ou tout acte contraire aux dispositions contenues dans la loi, et notamment tout licenciement en violation de ces dispositions, est nul de plein droit et l’article L. 253-1 du Code du travail s’applique.

Lorsqu’une personne s’estime lésée par le non-respect à son égard du principe de l’égalité de traitement et établit directement ou par l’intermédiaire d’une association sans but lucratif ayant compétence pour ce faire conformément à la loi du 28 novembre 2006 ou par l’intermédiaire d’un syndicat ayant compétence pour ce faire conformément et dans les limites de l’article L. 253-5 paragraphe (2) du Code du travail, ou dans le cadre d’une action née de la convention collective de travail ou de l’accord conclu en application de l’article L. 165-1 du Code du travail conformément et dans les limites de l’article L. 253-5, paragraphe (1) du Code du travail, devant la juridiction civile ou administrative, des faits qui permettent de présumer l’existence d’une discrimination directe ou indirecte, il incombe à la partie défenderesse de prouver qu’il n’y a pas eu violation du principe de l’égalité de traitement.

Ce paragraphe ne s’applique pas aux procédures pénales.

Est à considérer comme nulle et non avenue toute disposition figurant notamment dans un contrat, une convention individuelle ou collective ou un règlement intérieur d’entreprise, ainsi que dans les règles régissant les associations à but lucratif ou non lucratif, les professions indépendantes et les organisations de travailleurs et d’employeurs contraire au principe de l’égalité de traitement au sens de la loi du 28 novembre 2006.

Toute association sans but lucratif d’importance nationale dont l’activité statutaire consiste à combattre la discrimination qui jouit de la personnalité juridique depuis au moins cinq ans à la date des faits et qui a été préalablement agréée par le ministre ayant la Justice dans ses attributions peut exercer devant les juridictions civiles ou administratives, les droits reconnus à la victime d’une discrimination en ce qui concerne des faits constituant une violation selon les dispositions de la loi et portant un préjudice direct ou indirect aux intérêts collectifs qu’elle a pour objet de défendre en vertu de leur objet statutaire, même si elle ne justifie pas d’un intérêt matériel ou moral.

Toutefois quand les faits auront été commis envers des personnes considérées individuellement, l’association sans but lucratif ne pourra exercer par voie principale les droits reconnus à la victime d’une discrimination qu’à la condition que ces personnes déclarent expressément et par écrit ne pas s’y opposer.

Pour le moment, les associations sans but lucratif suivantes ont un agrément:

« Association de soutien aux travailleurs immigrés » (ASTI), « Centre de liaison, d’information et d’aide pour les associations des projets au Luxembourg » (CLAE) et « Action Luxembourg Ouvert et Solidaire-Ligue des droits de l’homme » (ALOS-LDH) au titre de la loi du 19 juillet 1997 (motif « race/origine ethnique »);

« Association de soutien aux travailleurs immigrés » (ASTI), « Info-Handicap (Conseil national des personnes handicapées) », « Chiens guides d’aveugles au Luxembourg », « Action Luxembourg Ouvert et Solidaire-Ligue des droits de l’homme » (ALOS-LDH) et CARITAS au titre de la loi du 28 novembre 2006

et « Conseil national des femmes du Luxembourg (CNFL) » au titre des lois du 21 décembre 2007 et 13 mai 2008.