FAQ

What are the areas of expertise of the CET?

The purpose of the CET is to promote, analyse and monitor equal treatment between all persons without discrimination on the basis of race, ethnic origin, sex, sexual orientation, religion or beliefs, handicap or age.

In the performance of its mission, the CET can notably:

  • publish reports, issue opinions and recommendations, and carry out studies touching on all matters relating to discrimination;
  • produce and supply all information and documentation within the framework of its mission;
  • lend assistance to people who feel that they have been the victim of discrimination by providing them with an advisory and orientation service intended to inform victims regarding their individual rights, the legislation, case law and the means for claiming their rights.

What types of discrimination does the CET consider?

The CET can intervene when the discrimination is based on one of the 6 following reasons:

  1. sex (biological sex and gender identity),
  2. sexual orientation,
  3. religion or beliefs,
  4. membership or not, whether true or assumed, in a given race or ethnic group,
  5. a handicap or
  6. age.

Any direct or indirect discrimination based on these reasons is forbidden!

What is meant by membership or not, whether true or assumed, in a given race or ethnic group?

The reference to belonging to a race or ethnic group is broad, and serves to take in almost all types of discrimination based on birth.

In particular, the term “ethnic group” refers to a group of individuals having a common language or culture: it serves to protect groups of people that may extend beyond the framework of nations or, on the contrary, may be members of national minorities.

The notion of true or assumed membership or non-membership makes it possible to pursue a perpetrator of discrimination when this person has taken a discriminatory decision against a person due to the belief that this person is or is not a member of a particular ethnic group or race.

What is sex?

Sex includes the biological sex as well as gender identity.

According to the Yogyakarta principles, gender identity is understood to refer to each person’s deeply felt internal and individual experience of gender, which may or may not correspond with the sex assigned at birth, including the personal sense of the body (which may involve, if freely chosen, modification of bodily appearance or function by medical, surgical or other means) and other expressions of gender, including dress, speech and mannerisms.

What is sexual orientation?

The concept of sexual orientation takes in heterosexuality, homosexuality, bisexuality, pansexuality and asexuality.

According to the Yogyakarta principles, sexual orientation is understood to refer to each person’s capacity for profound emotional,affectional and sexual attraction to, and intimate and sexual relations with, individuals of adifferent gender or the same gender or more than one gender.

What are beliefs?

For the CET, beliefs relate to the existence or not of a god or divinities. Also covered are philosophical beliefs such as atheism, agnosticism or secularism.

What is a handicap?

In 2006, the European Court of Justice handed down its first decision regarding the meaning of the word “handicap”. As such, it established a distinction between handicap and illness: “(…) the notion of “handicap” must be understood as targeting a limitation, notably resulting from physical, mental or psychological impairment that hinders the participation of the person in question in professional life (…). For the limitation to fall under the notion of “handicap”, it is therefore probable that it must be of long duration.”

How to contact the CET?

You can get in touch with the CET:

  • either by mail at the following address: B.P. 2026 L-1020 Luxembourg
  • or by telephone: (+352) 26 48 30 33
  • or by fax: (+352) 26 48 38 73
  • or even by e-mail: info@cet.lu
  • by appointment (87, route de Thionville L-2611 Luxembourg)

FAQ

Quelles sont les compétences du CET?

Le CET a pour objet de promouvoir, d’analyser et de surveiller l’égalité de traitement entre toutes les personnes sans discrimination fondée sur la race, l’origine ethnique, le sexe, l’orientation sexuelle, la religion ou les convictions, le handicap et l’âge.

Dans l’exercice de sa mission, le CET peut notamment:

  • publier des rapports, émettre des avis ainsi que des recommandations et conduire des études sur toutes les questions liées aux discriminations;
  • produire et fournir toute information et toute documentation dans le cadre de sa mission;
  • apporter une aide aux personnes qui s’estiment victimes d’une discrimination en mettant à leur disposition un service de conseil et d’orientation visant à informer les victimes sur leurs droits individuels, la législation, la jurisprudence et les moyens de faire valoir leurs droits.

Quels motifs de discrimination le CET couvre-t-il?

Le CET peut intervenir lorsque la discrimination est fondée sur un des 6 motifs suivants :

  1. l’appartenance ou non appartenance, vraie ou supposée, à une race ou ethnie,
  2. le sexe (le sexe biologique ou l’identité de genre),
  3. l’orientation sexuelle,
  4. la religion ou les convictions,
  5. le handicap ou
  6. l’âge.

Toute discrimination directe ou indirecte fondée sur ces motifs est interdite !

Qu’est-ce l’appartenance ou non appartenance, vraie ou supposée, à une race ou ethnie?

La référence à l’appartenance à une race ou ethnie est large et permet de couvrir pratiquement toutes les discriminations fondées sur la naissance.

En particulier, le terme « ethnie » désigne un ensemble d’individus réunis par une communauté de langue ou de culture : il permet de protéger des ensembles humains pouvant déborder le cadre des nations ou au contraire correspondre à des minorités nationales.

L’appartenance ou la non-appartenance est vraie ou supposée permet de poursuivre l’auteur d’une discrimination dès lors qu’il a pris une décision discriminatoire envers une personne en raison de l’idée qu’il s’est faite de son appartenance ou non-appartenance à une race ou ethnie.

Qu'est-ce que le sexe?

Le sexe comprend toute forme du sexe biologique mais également l’identité de genre d’une personne.

Les principes de Yogyakarta définissent l’identité de genre comme faisant référence à l’expérience intime et personnelle de son genre profondément vécue par chacun, qu’elle corresponde ou non au sexe assigné à la naissance, y compris la conscience personnelle du corps (qui peut impliquer, si consentie librement, une modification de l’apparence ou des fonctions corporelles par des moyens médicaux, chirurgicaux ou autres) et d’autres expressions du genre, y compris l’habillement, le discours et les manières de se conduire.

Qu’est-ce que l’orientation sexuelle?

Le concept d’orientation sexuelle recouvre l’hétérosexualité, l’homosexualité, la bisexualité, la pansexualité et l’asexualité.

D’après les principes de Yogyakarta, l’orientation sexuelle est comprise comme faisant référence à la capacité de chacun de ressentir une profonde attirance émotionnelle, affective et sexuelle envers des individus du sexe opposé, de même sexe ou de plus d’un sexe, et d’entretenir des relations intimes et sexuelles avec ces individus.

Qu’est-ce que les convictions?

Pour le CET, les convictions concernent l’existence ou non d’un dieu ou de divinités. Sont donc également visées les convictions philosophiques telles que l’athéisme, l’agnosticisme ou la laïcité.

Qu’est-ce que le handicap?

En 2006, la Cour de justice européenne a rendu sa première décision concernant la signification du mot « handicap ». Elle a ainsi établi une distinction entre handicap et maladie : « (…) la notion de « handicap » doit être entendue comme visant une limitation, résultant notamment d’atteintes physiques, mentales ou psychiques et entravant la participation de la personne concernée à la vie professionnelle (…). Pour que la limitation relève de la notion de « handicap », il doit donc être probable qu’elle soit de longue durée. »

Comment contacter le CET?

Vous pouvez joindre le CET :

  • soit par voie postale à l’adresse suivante : B.P. 2026 L-1020 Luxembourg
  • soit par téléphone : (+352) 26 48 30 33
  • soit par fax : (+352) 26 48 38 73
  • ou bien par mail : info@cet.lu
  • sur rendez-vous (87, route de Thionville L-2611 Luxembourg)