Missions

In the performance of its mission, the Centre can notably:

  • publish reports, issue opinions and recommendations, and carry out studies touching on all matters relating to discrimination;
  • produce and supply all information and documentation within the framework of its mission;
  • lend assistance to people who feel that they have been the victim of discrimination by providing them with an advisory and orientation service intended to inform victims regarding their individual rights, the legislation, case law and the means for claiming their rights;
  • conduct or commission independent surveys and analyses concerning unjustified restrictions and obstacles to the right to free movement, or discrimination on grounds of nationality, of Union workers and members of their family, according to regulation (EU) No 492/2011 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 5 April 2011 on freedom of movement for workers within the Union.

Article 2 of the law of 28th July 2011 designates the CCDH (Commission consultative des Droits de l’Homme) and the CET as national independent mechanisms for the promotion and the follow-up of the Convention on the rights of persons with disabilities.

Missions

Dans l’exercice de sa mission, le CET peut notamment:

  • publier des rapports, émettre des avis ainsi que des recommandations et conduire des études sur toutes les questions liées aux discriminations;
  • produire et fournir toute information et toute documentation dans le cadre de sa mission;
  • apporter une aide aux personnes qui s’estiment victimes d’une discrimination en mettant à leur disposition un service de conseil et d’orientation visant à informer les victimes sur leurs droits individuels, la législation, la jurisprudence et les moyens de faire valoir leurs droits;
  • mener ou commanditer des enquêtes et des analyses indépendantes sur les restrictions et obstacles injustifiés au droit à la libre circulation ou sur la discrimination fondée sur la nationalité à l’encontre des travailleurs de l’Union et des membres de leur famille au sens du règlement (UE) n° 492/2011 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 5 avril 2011 relatif à la libre circulation des travailleurs à l’intérieur de l’Union.

L’article 2 de la loi du 28 juillet 2011 désigne la CCDH (Commission consultative des Droits de l’Homme) et le CET comme mécanismes nationaux indépendants de promotion et de suivi d’application de la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées.