Application domains

The law of 28 November 2006 on equal treatment applies to all people, whether public or private, natural persons or legal persons and including public institutions, with regard to:

  1. the conditions for accessing occupations, non-salaried activities or work, including the selection criteria and recruiting conditions, irrespective of the business branch and on all levels of the professional hierarchy, including with regard to promotion;
  2. access to all types and all levels of professional orientation, professional training, improvement and occupational retraining, including the acquisition of practical experience
  3. employment and working conditions, including conditions pertaining to dismissal and compensation;
  4. affiliation with and involvement in an organisation of workers or employers, or any organisation of which the members carry out a given profession, including any benefits resulting from organisation of this type;
  5. social protection, including social security and healthcare;
  6. social benefits;
  7. education;
  8. access to goods and services and the supply of goods and services as made available to the public, including with regard to accommodations.

Without prejudice to the application of Chapter I of Regulation (EU) No 492/2011 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 5 April 2011 on the free movement of workers within the Union, this law does not apply to differences in treatment based on nationality applied under the provisions and conditions relating to the entry, residence and employment of third-country nationals and stateless persons in the national territory and any treatment related to the legal status of third-country nationals and stateless persons concerned.

Points a) and c) above exclude civil servants, State employees and trainee civil servants pursuant to article 1st of the modified law of 16 April 1979 determining the general status of civil servants of the State as well as persons likely to access one of the predefined statuses or systems, provided that these persons are duly identified in their relations with the public authority that is hiring them, in its capacity as employer.

Payments of any kind made by public or similar plans, including public social security or health protection plans do not fall within the sphere of the present law with regard to its prohibition of all discrimination based on criteria other than race or ethnic group.

Point h) above does not apply to insurance contracts with regard to age and handicap, and provided that the dispensation is both objectively and reasonably justified.

Gültigkeitsbereiche

Das Gesetz über Chancengleichheit vom 28. November 2006 gilt für alle Personen, also für öffentliche und private, physische und moralische, und darüber hinaus für öffentliche Körperschaften im Zusammenhang mit:

  1. Zugangsbedingungen zu Arbeit, sei es in Form unbezahlter Tätigkeiten oder Lohnarbeit, einschließlich des Auswahl- und Einstellungsverfahrens, unabhängig von Branche sowie Hierarchieebene und auch im Zusammenhang mit Beförderungen;
  2. Den Zugang zu allen Arten und Ebenen der beruflichen Orientierung, der Berufsausbildung, von Umschulungs- und Weiterbildungsmaßnahmen, einschließlich des Erwerbs von praktischen Fertigkeiten;
  3. Arbeits- und Beschäftigungsbedingungen, einschließlich der Bezahlung und der Bedingungen im Entlassungsfall;
  4. Beitritt zu beziehungsweise Aktivität in einer Arbeitnehmer- oder Arbeitgebervertretung oder einer anderen berufsgebundenen Organisation, dieses auch im Bezug auf die daraus resultierenden Vorteile;
  5. das Sozialsystem, einschließlich der sozialen Sicherheit und des Gesundheitssystems;
  6. Soziale Vorteile;
  7. Bildung;
  8. Zugang zu und Lieferung von der Öffentlichkeit zugänglichen Produkten und Dienstleistungen, einschließlich solcher, die den Bereich Wohnen betreffen.

Unbeschadet der Anwendung von Kapitel I der Verordnung (EU) Nr. 492/2011 des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates vom 5. April 2011 über die Freizügigkeit der Arbeitnehmer innerhalb der Union gilt dieses Gesetz nicht für die aus der Zugehörigkeit zu einer Nationalität resultierenden Benachteiligungen und versteht sich als unanhängig von Regelungen und Bedingungen, die den Zugang zu Arbeits- und Aufenthaltsbedingungen von Bürgern aus Drittländern und von Staatenlosen betreffen, sowie von den juristischen Grundlagen, die für Bürger aus Drittländern sowie für Staatenlose gelten.

Die Punkte a) und c) beziehen sich nicht auf Staatsbedienstete sowie Staatspraktikanten gemäß Artikel 1 des überarbeiteten Gesetzes vom 16. April 1979 über den Status von Staatsbediensteten und Anwärtern auf den Staatsdienst sowie über die Rolle des öffentlichen Dienstes als Arbeitgeber.

Zahlungen seitens der öffentlichen Hand sowie seitens mit Ihr in Verbindung stehender Organe – einschließlich der Bereiche Soziale Sicherheit und Sozialversicherung – sind nicht Teil dieses Gesetzes, da sie wiederum unter das grundsätzliche Diskriminierungsverbot aufgrund von rassischer und ethnischer Herkunft fallen.

Der Punkt h) schließt Versicherungsverträge aus, sofern das Alter oder eine Behinderung eine Rolle spielen beziehungsweise wenn objektive und nachvollziehbare Kriterien vorliegen.